Thread: Mid-Ohio turn by turn

Default Mid-Ohio turn by turn

Audi Club had an HPDE at Mid-Ohio last weekend. Chief Instructor Jim Earnshaw once again provided a track walk at 6:30 Saturday and Sunday mornings. We went over half the track each day. I'm a novice driver, and have only been on the track in street cars, but here are some shots of the track and comments I've picked up from various instructors.

Here we are in turn 1 and looking back down the front straight. Pit lane is to the right, and the infield to the left of this image. The front straight does have some decent humps to it, but these are barely felt at speed. Setting up for turn 1, we are to the left side of the image, towards the infield. A stab of the brakes to settle the car, and back on power once under the bridge.

This is turn 1, the fastest corner on the track. The yellow curb separates pit out from the track. Ideally, we want to start out about a foot from the curb and end up apexing it at the end.

This view is of the short straight between turns 1 and 2, looking back towards turn 1. The pro course doesn't use the chicane before the keyhole, but club students do. After turn 1, we need to cross over the track to set up for the chicane, ending up where the row of cars is parked.

The pro course would plow right through the wall of cones. We were using the chicane to bleed off speed before the keyhole, though. Once back to track left after turn 1, a good visual to pick up is the white, leftmost billboard (it's a Budweiser ad). If you turn when that becomes parallel with the apex curbing of turn 2, you can create a short straight in the chicane to brake and prepare for the left-hand turn. This is important because there's no reason to brake for turn 2, so you definitely need to slow down before you transition to the left-hand turn of the chicane.